From the office of Elizabeth McClintock,
Colorado Springs Assault Lawyer
According to Colorado state laws,
If you make an unwarranted attempt or threaten to cause physical harm to another person with the intent and capacity to carry out the offensive actions, you can be arrested and charged with assault.
If convicted of assault, the penalties range from being fined to imprisonment. The severity of the penalties depend upon the seriousness of the crime.
If you have been accused of assault in Colorado Springs or El Paso County and know you need help NOW, click here to schedule a Free Case Evaluation.
Understanding Criminal Assault Charges In Colorado
Under Colorado statutes there are three categories of assault:
First Degree Assault
Second Degree Assault
Third Degree Assault
Each category symbolizes the seriousness of the crime and the extent of the punishment associated, if convicted.
In most cases, we find it is best NOT TO PLEA. Keep reading to understand why and what can happen if you do. The McClintock Law Firm understands each assault category in depth in order to provide the best, most comprehensive and accurate representation to defend your freedom.
THIRD Degree Assault
Sometimes referred to as ‘simple assault’, a Third Degree Assault occurs when a person knowingly causes harm or threatens injury to another individual.
This type of assault is categorized as a misdemeanor. However, if convicted the penalties include: fines, mandatory anger management treatment and up to 3 years imprisonment.
Domestic assault cases often times fall in the category of a third degree assault charge dependent on the severity of assault.
SECOND Degree Assault
Second Degree Assault is a class 4 felony and carries harsher repercussions such as: longer prison terms, larger fines and mandatory rehabilitation programs.
This assault charge is applicable, under Colorado Revised Statutes 18-3-204, when a person:
Causes serious damage or permanent injury to another individual.
Causes death due to reckless and negligent behavior.
Supplies another individual with harmful drugs intended to cause lasting damages
FIRST Degree Assault
First Degree Assault is charged in more serious cases of assault and carries the harshest punishments of all the categories of assault.
First degree assault, under Colorado Revised Statutes 18-3-202, is applicable in cases where:
Assault involves the use of a deadly weapon.
Assault is perpetrated against or threats are made against a police officer or fire-fighter.
Intentional harm was done against an individual by another person.
Action is likely to cause grave damage or even death.
The grim penalties that could be dispensed upon being convicted of first degree assault include: fines of hundreds of thousands of dollars and up to 24 years in prison.
The implications associated with any category of assault charges are to be taken seriously and thus it is highly recommended you contact the legal professionals at McClintock Law Firm for legal counsel from the onset of an assault case.
Effective Defense Against Wrongful Assault Charges
If you have been charged, you may be tempted to plea. Know what you are doing before you do! Among many things, if you plea you will:
NEVER OWN A GUN AGAIN
FORFEIT ALL OF THE GUNS YOU OWN
NEVER BE ALLOWED TO VISIT CANADA and be restricted from other international travel.In a FREE CASE EVALUATION we will help you learn the DO’s and DON’TS of fighting assault charges.
We understand assault charges have dire implications once convicted and the options and consequences are complicated. If you have been charged, it is imperative that you seek legal counsel from attorneys with a proven track record for successfully defending clients faced with even the most daunting assault charges.
Allow McClintock Law Firm to provide you with guidance and stability through the strenuous process of substantially asserting your innocence; through to exoneration.
Our attorneys have years of experience defending clients charged with assault and will be able to utilize the gained knowledge and exposure to create a unique and formidable defense.If you have been charged with assault, schedule your Free Case Evaluation now.
You have important questions and YOUR FREEDOM IS AT STAKE, and you need answers. We can help.